The Commonwealth Regions

The Commonwealth is an association of some of the world’s largest, smallest, richest and poorest independent countries which work together to promote democracy, good governance, human rights and economic development.

The modern Commonwealth began in 1949 when Commonwealth Prime Ministers met and adopted the ‘London Declaration’ where it was agreed all member countries would be “freely and equally associated.” The values which unite the Commonwealth (democracy, freedom, peace, the rule of law and opportunity for all) were reaffirmed in 2009 in Trinidad and Tobago.

The 54 countries that make up the Commonwealth are divided into 4 regions:

Commonwealth Students Association